Travelguide – Miami & Key West

Meanwhile it’s my first week back in Germany after a long time in the US. After L.A., Palm Springs and Dallas, I made another trip to Miami to visit a friend. When we clasp into each others’ arms at the airport, we were both surprised about the fact, that we had never thought to see us in Florida under these circumstances. It’s just crazy what happened in a few years and how much everything has changed in Emsdetten since our youth. But it’s nice to note how all my friends travel the world to find their personal way of life.

One of my highlights was definitely that I had the chance to get an impression of her everyday life at the Lynn University in Boca Raton. We strolled over the huge campus and I was overwhelmed by pictures that I had only known from Highschool Musical. Breathtaking sports facilities and dimensions that aren’t comparable to Germany. After two days in her new “hometown” we went to Miami and thats where the Travelguide actually begins.

We spent two nights at the COMO Metropolitan. A beautiful boutique hotel right at the beach in the typical Art Deco style of the city. The well-known Italian designer Paola Navone has given the hotel a very special charm with modern and urban elements, light-flooded rooms and attention to detail. In addition to the pool and its own beach section, guests can relax in the rooftop hydrotherapy pool, a co-ed steam room, a gym and enjoy the COMO Shambhala Urban Escape. We always started our day with a delicious breakfast with freshly baked pastries, homemade juices and fruits at the terrace of the restaurant. What more could we ask for?

Another highlight of the COMO Metropolitan is the Traymore Bar, where gin & jazz events take place every month. Unfortunately, I wasn’t able to enjoy it, but of course I had to try the signature drink of the hotel. Good to know for all gin lovers … The Traymore Gin Bar’s dedicated Gin Club serves Miami’s best premium and super-premium gin drinks, featuring over 30 artisanal gins.

  COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach 2445 Collins Avenue Miami Beach FL 33140

 

 

If you are in Miami or plan a trip, I have a few more recommendations for you:

 

 Broken Shaker

A hostel bar with a great atmosphere. An absolute must if you want to have a relaxing evening with delicious drinks at a pool and little lamps all over the trees. – 2727 Indian Creek Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33140

Under the Mango Tree

Acai Bowls, Fresh Juices, Smoothies and more– 714 6th St, Miami Beach, FL 33139

Lilikoi Organic Living

As the name suggests, this is another food spot with many healthy treats – 500 South Pointe Dr Ste 180, Miami Beach, FL 33139

Miami Beach Bicycle Centre
From my first stay in Miami I remembered the bike ride along the beach. The tour at the Miami Southpoint Park is particularly beautiful. The sight of the ships and  Miami’s skyline in the morning sun is overwhelming.– 746 5th Street Miami Beach, FL 33139

 
After wonderful days in Miami we went on the 3.5 hour drive to Key West. But with the legendary nature impressions on the way, the time passes by so fast. Many tourists like to make some stops on their way to the south in Islamorada. For us there was only a short stop at the most famous palm tree. You can find the signature palm at the end of Beach Road in the arial of a small hotel. Other popular locations on the way to the Keys are the following:
Blond Giraffe –Key Lime Pie Factory
Here you can eat the best key lime pie –92220 Overseas Hwy Tavernier, FL 33070
Bahia Honda State Park & Beach
– 36850 Overseas Hwy, Big Pine Key, FL 33043
Seven Mile Bridge
You can’t get past this bridge anyway. But it’s worths to be prepared, that the camera is ready and the journey over the sea can be kept in pictures. You can also do a trip to the Pigeon Key, an island half-way parallel to the Seven Mile Bridge.

Arrived on the Keys we directly checked in at the 24 North Hotel at the Oceanfront. A very young and modern hotel, that hasn’t only enchanted me with it’s perfect Instagram spots. In addition to a lovingly designed pool area with a small café called the Toasted Coconut and a fitness room, many more activities are offered. For example Yoga, pilates, bicycles, snorkeling and diving, catamaran tours and parasailing. A trip in the city center can be done with the hotel shuttle or you can explore the surroundings by bike. We chose the route with the bikes from the 24 North Hotel to the Smathers Beach, along the Roosevelt Boulevard to Duval Street.

In America I had fallen in love with the new Starbucks Drink Iced Cinnamon Almondmilk Macchiato, so the joy was great that a Starbucks belongs to the hotel complex. With the refreshing drink in my hand, I listened to a DJ who played almost all my favorite songs at a surprising weekend session. The atmosphere at the pool couldn’t have been better and also in this situation, I was impressed by the relaxed atmosphere. I just enjoyed all the impressions, enjoyed the sun, didn’t think about the next day and just enjoyed the here and now.

At least during the bike tour around the island it happened… I fell in love with this place while walking through the busy Duval Street and watching the sunset. Actually, I’m not a fan of party places or similar, but here I felt the oozing mood simply different. As far as the eye could see were cheerful people who listened to the live music and sang. Two older ladies danced to the songs of a two-man band, after the sunset at the pier. This joy of life has touched me so much and I have secretly hoped, that I will come back here in a few years and celebrate the life with my friends.

 

What you shouldn’t miss on a trip to the Keys:

Southernmost Point 

One of the most photographed places in Key West is definitely the Southernmost Point. It is considered to be the southernmost point of the continental USA. –  Located in Upper Duval on the corner of Whitehead Street and South Street

Mallory Square

Here the world-famous sunset is celebrated with music and many street artists. An absolute must! – 400 WALL ST. KEY WEST, FL 33040

xo Maike

 

 

1 comment
If you like to leave a comment, please switch to the German version

Travelguide – Miami & Key West


Mittlerweile bricht für mich die erste Woche in Deutschland nach meinem Trip in den Staaten an. Nach L.A. , Palm Springs und Dallas habe ich einen weiteren Abstecher nach Miami zu einer Freundin gemacht. Als wir uns am Flughafen in die Arme fielen haben wir beide überrascht festgestellt, dass wir vor fünf Jahren niemals gedacht hätten uns  einmal unter diesen Umständen in Florida zu sehen.  Es ist einfach verrückt, was in dieser kurzen Zeit alles passiert ist und wie sehr sich seit unserer Jugend in Emsdetten alles verändert hat. Aber es ist schön zu merken, wie alle Freund mit einer großen Portion Weltoffenheit und Reiselust ihren Weg gehen.

Eine Besonderheit an meinem Aufenthalt war definitiv, dass ich eine Chance hatte in ihren Alltag an Lynn University in Boca Raton einzutauchen. Wir schlenderten über den Campus und mir wurden Bilder geboten, die ich bislang nur aus dem Highschool Musical kannte. Atemberaubende Sportstätten und Dimensionen, die es so in Deutschland nicht gibt. Nach zwei Tagen in ihrer neuen „Heimat“ ging es für uns dann nach Miami und hier beginnt der eigentliche Travelguide.

Wir haben zwei Nächte im COMO Metropolitan verbracht. Ein wunderschönes Boutique Hotel direkt am Strand im typischen Art Deco Stil der Stadt. Die bekannte italienische Designerin Paola Navone hat dem Hotel mit modernen und urbanen Elementen, lichtdurchfluteten Zimmern und viel Liebe zum Detail einen ganz besonderen Charm verliehen. Neben dem Pool und eigenen Strandabschnitt kann man die Seele im Rooftop Hydrotherapiepool, einer Dampfsauna, beim Sport oder dem umfangreichen Shambhala Miami Beach Spa baumeln lassen. Ein weiteres Aushängeschild des COMO Metropolitan ist die Traymore Bar, in der jeden Monat Gin & Jazz Veranstaltungen stattfinden. In den Genuss kam ich leider nicht, aber habe es mir natürlich nicht nehmen lassen den Signature Drink des Hotels zu kosten.

  COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach 2445 Collins Avenue Miami Beach FL 33140

 

Wenn ihr in Miami seid oder eine Reise plant habe ich noch ein paar weitere Empfehlungen für euch:

 Broken Shaker

Eine Hotelbar der besonderen Art. Ein absolutes Muss, wenn ihr Lust auf einen entspannten Abend mit lecken Drinks habt. – 2727 Indian Creek Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33140

Under the Mango Tree

Acai Bowls, Frische Säfte, Smoothies und vieles mehr – 714 6th St, Miami Beach, FL 33139

Lilikoi Organic Living

Wie der Name schon ahnen lässt, handelt es sich um einen weiteren Essenspot mit vielen gesunden Leckereien – 500 South Pointe Dr Ste 180, Miami Beach, FL 33139

Pura Vida 

Zu guter Letzt eine Empfehlung meiner Freundin. Hier soll das Preis-, Leistungsverhältnis sehr gut sein und die Speisen sind super lecker. – 110 Washington Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Miami Beach Bicycle Centre

Von meinem ersten Aufenthalt in Miami ist mir die Radtour am strand entlang in Erinnerung geblieben. Besonders schön ist die Tour am  Miami South Point Park. Der Anblick der Schiffe ist überwältigend, ebenso wie der Anblick der Skyline von Miami in der Morgensonne.– 746 5th Street Miami Beach, FL 33139


Nach wundervollen Tagen in Miami machten wir uns auf die 3,5 Stunden lange Fahrt nach Key West. Doch dank der sagenhaften Natureindrücke auf dem Weg, vergeht die Zeit wie im Fluge. Viele machen auf dem Trip in den Süden Zwischenstops in Islamorada. Für uns stand allerdings nur ein kurzer Halt an der wohl bekanntesten Palme an. Die besagte Palme liegt am Ende der Beach Road im Arial eines kleinen Hotels. Weitere beliebte Anlaufstellen auf der Reise zu den Keys sind die folgenden:
Blond Giraffe –Key Lime Pie Factory
Hier gibt es den wohl besten Key Lime Pie –92220 Overseas Hwy Tavernier, FL 33070
Bahia Honda State Park & Beach
– 36850 Overseas Hwy, Big Pine Key, FL 33043
Seven Mile Bridge
An dieser Brücke kommt man sowieso nicht vorbei. Doch es lohnt sich den Beifahrer vorzubereiten, sodass die Kamera parat liegt und die Fahrt über das Meer festgehalten werden kann. Man kann außerdem eine Tour zum Pigeon Key,  einer Insel auf halber Strecke parallel zur Seven-Mile-Bridge machen.

 

Angekommen auf den Keys sind wir direkt im 24 North Hotel an der Oceanfront eingecheckt. Ein sehr junges und modernes Hotel, das mich nicht nur mit seinen perfekten Instagram Spots verzaubert hat. Neben einem liebevoll gestalteten Poolbereich mit einem eigenen kleinen Café, dem Toasted Coconut und einem Fitnessraum werden weitere Aktivitäten angeboten. Yoga, Pilates, Spabehandlungen, Fahrrad- oder Rollerverleih, Schnorcheln und Tauchen, Catamaran Touren, Parasailingund vieles mehr. Einen Trip in den Stadtkern kann man mit dem Hotelshuttle machen oder wie wir einfach mit dem Rad die Umgebung erkunden. Wir haben uns für die Route vom 24 North Hotel zum Smathers Beach, dann entlang des Roosevelt Boulevards Richtung Duval Street entschieden.

Da ich mich in Amerika in den neuen Starbucks Drink Iced Cinnamon Almondmilk Macchiato verliebt hatte, war die Freude groß, dass eine Filiale zum Hotelkomplex gehört. Mit dem Erfrischungsgetränk in der Hand lauschte ich dem DJ, der am Wochenende beinahe alle meiner Lieblingssongs spielte. Die Stimmung am Pool hätte nicht besser sein können und auch in dieser Situation war ich von der entspannten Atmosphäre beeindruckt. Ich habe all die Eindrücke einfach auf mich wirken lassen, die Sonne genossen,nicht an den nächsten Tag gedacht, sondern einfach das hier und jetzt genossen.

Spätestens bei der Radtour rund um die Insel ist es dann um mich geschehen und ich habe mich beim schlendern durch die belebte Duval Street und dem Sonnenuntergang ein bisschen in diesen Ort verliebt. Eigentlich bin ich kein Fan von Partymeilen oder ähnlichem, aber hier empfand ich die ausgelassene Stimmung einfach anders. Soweit das Auge blickte waren fröhliche Menschen, die der Livemusik lauschten und mitsangen. Zwei ältere Damen tanzen nach dem Sonnenuntergang am Pier zu den Stücken einer Zwei-Mann-Band. Diese Lebensfreude hat mich so sehr berührt und ich habe insgeheim gehofft, dass ich in einigen Jahren wieder hier bin und mit meinen Freunden so unbeschwert das Leben feiern kann.

 

Was ihr bei einem Trip auf die Keys nicht verpassen solltet:

Southernmost Point 

Eines der meistfotografierten Orte in Key West ist definitiv der Southernmost Point. Er gilt als der südlichste Punkt der kontinentalen USA. –  Im Stadtteil Upper Duval an der Ecke Whitehead Street und South Street

Mallory Square

Hier wird der weltberühmte Sonnenuntergang bei Musik und mit etlichen Straßenkünstlern gefeiert. Ein absolutes Muss! – 400 WALL ST. KEY WEST, FL 33040

Außerdem habe ich einige Eindrücke von den Keys in diesem Video festgehalten. Ich hoffe es gefällt euch:

xo Maike

 

 

1 Kommentar
Switch to English version

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht.

Oder .